YANQ

Forum for TextAloud version 3

Moderator: Jim Bretti

IanJ

YANQ

Post by IanJ »

HI all

Yet Another Newbie Question.

Sorry, I'm a complete newbie to TextAloud so please forgive me. Yes, I've browsed the FAQs, etc.

I have to put together a series of files containing single characters, single words and very short phrases required for a grammar presentation for someone.

The word I am having trouble with is 'whose'. What comes out (which doesn't sound as though it's going to be 'whose' anyway) seems to get drastically clipped and ends up as some sort of grunt. I've tried spelling it differently, 'hooz', etc, fiddled with the phoneme editor, and slowing down the speed. Do I need to purchase better voices?

Anyway, all free clues will be gratefully received.

One grateful newbie

Thanks in advance

Ian
Jim Bretti

Re: YANQ

Post by Jim Bretti »

Hi Ian,

Which Voices are you seeing the problem with?
Jim Bretti
NextUp.com
IanJ

Post by IanJ »

Hi Jim

Thanks for your response. I'm playing with the default ones - but they may be different defaults. What originally happened was that I had an ex-girlfriend who downloaded the trial version of TextAloud onto my Vista laptop about five years ago, and it has just sat there ever since. I'm doing this grammar-type work on my desktop but thought I'd use the laptop to generate the vocal bits. So, I paid for the software. I was playing with the default Micro$oft voices - and which I now realise are probably obsolete, but which I thought were installed when I went through the purchase process yesterday. I've just done a download of the TextAloud trial version onto my Windoze 8 desktop machine and I get a different set of voices so I assume the voices come with Windows.

Is my assumption correct? Time for a rethink if it is.

Many thanks

Ian
Jim Bretti

Post by Jim Bretti »